Facebook has an eye on you, even when you are not logged in to Facebook; How to avoid Facebook tracking

Entrepreneur and hacker Nik Cubrilovic reports that Facebook can track the web pages you visit even when you are logged out of Facebook.

According to Cubrilovic’s tests, Facebook merely alters its tracking cookies when you log out, rather than deleting them. Your account information and other unique identifiable tokens are still present in these cookies, which means that any time you visit a web page with a Facebook button or widget, your browser is still sending personally identifiable information back to Facebook.

 

“With my browser logged out of Facebook, whenever I visit any page with a Facebook like button, or share button, or any other widget, the information, including my account ID, is still being sent to Facebook,” Cubrilovic wrote.

 

Cubrilovic conducted a test to see  what exactly is going on, he was playing around with multiple Facebook account, as part of some development work. He made a number of fake Facebook accounts after logging out of his browser. After using the fake accounts for some time, he found that they were suggesting his real account to him as a friend. Somehow Facebook knew that they were all coming from the same browser, even though he had logged out. STRANGE??

These test can be conducted by anyone on the internet, with a little bit of HTML knowledge.

Facebook knows every account that has accessed Facebook from every browser and is using that information to suggest friends to you. The strength of the ‘same machine’ value in the algorithm that works out friends to suggest may be low, but it still happens.

While, Facebook engineer Arturo Bejar said that Facebook uses the data from logged-out cookies only to prevent spamming, phishing and other security risks.

 

Here is how you can be a step ahead of Facebook, while using it

  • Use a different browser just for Social Networking
    A lot of browsers are available use one of them for Facebook, other for the normal browsing
  • Use private browsing when using Social Networks
    Chrome has Incognito mode, Safari has Private Browsing , Internet Explorer has In-private browsing, Firefox has Private Browsing use them! They automatically delete your web history and cookies when you close all the private browsing windows
  • Use  use AdBlock Plus or other privacy plugins
    You may want to use the following rules in Adblock Plusfacebook.com^$domain=~facebook.com ~facebook.net|~fbcdn.com|~fbcdn.net
    facebook.net^$domain=~facebook.com|~facebook.net|~fbcdn.com|~fbcdn.net
    fbcdn.com^$domain=~facebook.com|~facebook.net|~fbcdn.com|~fbcdn.net
    fbcdn.net^$domain=~facebook.com|~facebook.net|~fbcdn.com|~fbcdn.net

On the last note, I wonder,  how Facebook’s 800 million reported users will react to this revelation. What do you guys think?

The DNetWorks Team